First, let’s talk about the difference between felony and misdemeanor charges. A felony is always going to carry a higher bail cost. This is due to the increased punishment the defendant is likely to face if convicted. Lancaster County bail bonds aim to guarantee that the defendant appears in court proceedings. However, the difference in fines and jail time isn’t the only difference between felony and misdemeanor charges.
Class C misdemeanors
A misdemeanor can be classified into three different classes, depending on the crime involved. In most states, Class C misdemeanors carry a fine of no more than $2,000 and up to 180 days in county jail. Examples of crimes in this category include theft of property worth less than $100, drunk driving, and possession of up to two ounces of marijuana. On the other hand, Class B misdemeanors carry a fine of up to $2,000 and up to a year in jail.
States have implemented comprehensive reforms to reduce the number of misdemeanors. Utah, for example, reclassified misdemeanor traffic offenses from misdemeanors to infractions. Additionally, twenty-two states have decriminalized minor traffic offenses. Finally, they have streamlined adjudication to the administrative realm. As a result, misdemeanor sentences have been reduced from years of jail to mere fines.
While a Class C misdemeanor is the least serious criminal charge in Texas, it is nonetheless a serious crime. Although it carries no jail time, it can still jeopardize you. A misdemeanor conviction can impact your life in several ways. For example, it can prevent you from attending specific colleges, obtaining housing, and obtaining certain types of jobs.
Class B misdemeanors
Class B misdemeanors are less severe than Class C misdemeanors. However, a Class B misdemeanor can result in a fine of up to $500 and up to six months in jail. Some of the other misdemeanors, such as criminal trespass, harassment, and minor drug possession, carry fines of up to $3,000 and up to three years in jail.
While misdemeanors can be punished by a $500 to $2,000 fine, they can also land you in jail for up to a year. Class B misdemeanor penalties include theft of property worth at least $100, drunk driving, and possession of up to 2 ounces of marijuana. Unclassified misdemeanors are less serious and carry fines of $500 to $1,000.
While misdemeanor penalties are not as severe as those for felonies, they can still affect your life negatively. For example, misdemeanor convictions will appear on criminal background checks and may keep you from being able to obtain a job or obtain a license for specific occupations. As such, hiring a Texas criminal defense lawyer is essential to minimize the consequences of your misdemeanor convictions.
Getting a Dallas criminal defense lawyer is essential for people facing misdemeanor charges. A skilled criminal defense attorney can help you determine the best way to proceed. They will provide an honest assessment of your case and guide you through the criminal process. MostLaw Offices offer free consultations and aggressive representation. This may be the only option to protect yourself and your rights.
Class D misdemeanors
Penalties for a Class D misdemeanor vary by state but are typically much lower. For example, a first-degree robbery can carry a fine of $500, while a second-degree theft could result in imprisonment for up to five years. A third-degree felony conviction would result in a fine of $1,000 and, in some cases, even a jail sentence of up to three years.