The number of NDA Rajya Sabha MPs has crossed 100. Of this, BJP alone has 86 MPs.

NDA got more than 100 MPs

By winning eight seats in the Rajya Sabha elections held in 19 seats in eight states, the BJP has strengthened its position in the upper house more than before. The BJP had already won three seats. Former Union Minister and BJP leader Jyotiraditya Scindia, Congress’s Digvijay Singh and former Jharkhand Chief Minister Shibu Soren are among the leaders who have won the Rajya Sabha elections.

The BJP-led NDA has 90 seats in the Rajya Sabha, which has increased to 101. The majority figure in the Upper House of 245 seats is 123. This is the first time the number of NDA Rajya Sabha MPs has crossed 100. Of this, BJP alone has 86 MPs. The Congress-led UPA currently has 65 seats.

If the NDA has the support of parties like Biju Janata Dal (BJD), AIADMK and YSR Congress in the Rajya Sabha, then it will easily get a majority figure. At the same time, NDA has an absolute majority in the Lok Sabha.

In Gujarat, the ruling BJP won three seats (Narhari Amin, Abhay Bhardwaj and Ramilaben Bara) and Congress one (Shaktisinh Gohil). After the resignation of eight MLAs after March, the Congress was left with a chance to win a second seat.

The Congress objected to Bhupendrasinh Chudasama casting his vote on the grounds that his election was canceled by the Gujarat High Court in May. The Supreme Court has stayed that order.

BJP could not win second seat in Rajasthan

At the same time, the Congress in Rajasthan thwarted the BJP’s attempt to win an additional seat. Congress candidates from Rajasthan, KC Venugopal and Neeraj Dangi won, while BJP’s Rajendra Gehlot won.

Scindia also wins in Madhya Pradesh

On the other hand, Scindia joined BJP in March in Madhya Pradesh elections. Apart from Scindia, BJP’s Sumer Singh Solanki also won. At the same time, senior Congress leader Digvijay Singh was successful in going to the Rajya Sabha on behalf of the Congress.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here